The first written documents referring to Clauzetto date back to the 12th century, with the foundation of the Pieve d’Asio, but the origins of the village are certainly older. Between the 14th and 18th centuries, this territory was under the control of the Savorgnan family, who owned the nearby Pinzano Castle.
The Pieve di San Martino d’Asio, built at the beginning of the 16th century and now immersed in the woods, was of great importance for both Clauzetto and Vito d’Asio. It is located along the ancient road that still connects the two towns and which we recommend walking along.
Thanks to the excavations carried out by the University of Udine in the 1990s, traces of previous medieval structures were found at the back of the building.
Preserved in the church is a Renaissance jewel: a stone altar sculpted by Ticino artist Giovanni Antonio Carona, known as Pilacorte, between 1525 and 1528. And on the walls, the restoration carried out after the 1976 earthquake allowed the rediscovery of frescoes previously hidden by plaster. The Associazione Musicale Antiqua, based in Clauzetto in Palazzo Gerometta (Pradis di Sopra), recently chose the church, which is ideal from an acoustic point of view, as a recording studio.
Over time, the parish church of San Martino was joined by the sanctuary of San Giacomo, which then became the seat of the parish of Clauzetto.